Got TIPS or BREAKING NEWS? Please call 1-284-442-8000 or Email ALL news; ads call 1-284-440-6666

‘Decision to March’ committee says ‘Thank You’

-sets up Economic Advisory Committee
From left to right: Attorney Ayana S. Hull, Bishop John I. Cline and businesswoman Zoe J. Walcott, members of the Decision March organising team expressed many thanks to resident who came out and supported the march on May 24, 2018. Photo: Team of Reporters
The schedule of community meetings to be hosted by the EAG. Photo: Provided
The schedule of community meetings to be hosted by the EAG. Photo: Provided
ROAD TOWN, Tortola, VI- It was the biggest march in the Virgin Islands’ history, as close to 5000 residents descended on the streets of Road Town, marching from the ‘Sunday Morning Well’ to the Governor’s Office in the Capital City.

The march took place on Thursday, May 24, 2018.   It was on June 1, 2018, that the co-chairs of the ‘March Committee,’ businesswoman Zoe J. Walcott and Attorney Ayana S. Hull, along with Bishop John I. Cline—whose idea it was to march—held a press conference.

They thanked the many residents for turning out, along with a long list of government and private sector organisations such as the police, media,  and individuals that supported the effort. Ms Hull—author of the Territory’s national song—told the media on June 1, 2018, that approximately 3,000 persons affixed their signatures to a petition, objecting to the United Kingdom’s public registers for beneficial ownership being imposed on British Overseas Territories.

She stated that they allowed some more time for the additional signatures and that the petition will be officially handed over to Governor Augustus J.U Jaspert, shortly.

Who is on this Economic Advisory Group?

The group has also announced a series of community meetings which will be hosted by the Economic Advisory Group (EAG).

According to information obtained by our newsroom, the EAG includes; Chairman John I. Cline, Gerard St. C. Farara QC,  Art K. Christopher, Allan Parker, Sendrick Chinnery (Jost van Dyke), Dr. Natalio D. Wheatley, Dr Michael A. Turnbull, Ron R. Potter, Sharon Flax-Brutus (Virgin Gorda), Shirely Vanterpool of Anegada (unconfirmed), Colin Riegels a Legal/Industry consultant, John F. Black and Darrell Fahie.

21 Responses to “‘Decision to March’ committee says ‘Thank You’”

  • cay (03/06/2018, 20:19) Like (41) Dislike (14) Reply
    why do they use the same old recycled people?
    • @Cay (03/06/2018, 23:07) Like (15) Dislike (25) Reply
      The committee took great care not to do that but appreciate that everybody will not always be pleased. And although some have been used before, they have not all sat down in one room together to deal with theses issues. Let’s give them a chance.
    • SMH (04/06/2018, 07:05) Like (25) Dislike (2) Reply
      Exactly! Just the mentioned of certain names makes one not to have any Faith in this group.
    • ??? (06/06/2018, 11:11) Like (2) Dislike (2) Reply
      If there are recycled names, I assume that is because they agreed to serve.
      This list was reduced from over 30 names.
  • Wow! (03/06/2018, 20:22) Like (9) Dislike (21) Reply
    A Power House!
  • Nice (03/06/2018, 20:25) Like (8) Dislike (20) Reply
    to see 2 generations working together. Power in Unity. Good job.
  • VI2DBONE (03/06/2018, 20:28) Like (30) Dislike (4) Reply
    Stop lying on the size of the march
  • 2nd March (03/06/2018, 20:33) Like (29) Dislike (14) Reply
    Now it’s time to march on the other internal issues. What we really need to do- is March for a new set of political leaders with enough common sense to stir up on a new course to actualize some new form of economic progress. Case closed.
  • Liability (03/06/2018, 21:11) Like (37) Dislike (2) Reply
    NDP has become the enemy of progress. Second match is on, questions to answered, and we will not be taking their unusual deceptions to pacify us. We want straight talk.
    • BRAD BOYNES (04/06/2018, 11:54) Like (5) Dislike (3) Reply
      A lot of you all cannot handle straight talk. And that is the darn truth. Wait for it.
  • rattie (03/06/2018, 21:58) Like (26) Dislike (4) Reply
    Hope they marching on the ndp
  • Truth (04/06/2018, 07:47) Like (26) Dislike (2) Reply
    Let's see how much on that economic committee will be to the second march on the corrupt NDP

    If not they are a bunch of hypocrits an oppressors
  • Hmmm (04/06/2018, 09:50) Like (25) Dislike (2) Reply
    All these people didn't care about us before until their secured salaries in the big industry became affected. All about self!!!
  • Eagle Eye (04/06/2018, 12:00) Like (5) Dislike (2) Reply
    More look like a making love committee to me.
  • cromwell (04/06/2018, 12:14) Like (35) Dislike (3) Reply
    I would respectfully suggest the Mr Skelton Cline not be involved in anything until such time as the cruise ship pier is concluded, particularly now that we are hearing that KPMG are having difficulty obtaining information.
    • huh (04/06/2018, 17:18) Like (2) Dislike (1) Reply
      Why don't you read? Do you see his name appearing on the list of members of this group? A whole court case went by and people still looking for information? Ask the Ministry responsible where the papers are, I am sure they have the information.
  • tragedy (05/06/2018, 16:38) Like (5) Dislike (2) Reply
    Three divorcees with added candy touch. BVI BVI BVI wake up. Let’s get serious man. Enough with the shows. Seriously Irma entertained us already. Get rid of these people.

Create a comment

Create a comment

Disclaimer: Virgin Islands News Online (VINO) welcomes your thoughts, feedback, views, bloggs and opinions. However, by posting a blogg you are agreeing to post comments or bloggs that are relevant to the topic, and that are not defamatory, liable, obscene, racist, abusive, sexist, anti-Semitic, threatening, hateful or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be excluded permanently from making contributions. Please view our declaimer above this article. We thank you in advance for complying with VINO's policy.


Follow Us On

Disclaimer: All comments posted on Virgin Islands News Online (VINO) are the sole views and opinions of the commentators and or bloggers and do not in anyway represent the views and opinions of the Board of Directors, Management and Staff of Virgin Islands News Online and its parent company.