Got TIPS or BREAKING NEWS? Please call 1-284-442-8000 direct/can also WhatsApp same number or Email ALL news;                               ads call 1-284-440-6666

Polls closed in the VI, results pending; Territory on edge

Voters in the third electoral district, Sea Cow’s Bay. Photo: Team of Reporters
ROAD TOWN, Tortola, VI - Polls in the Virgin Islands (VI) are now closed for the 2019 General Elections, as the few remaining voters are in lines casting votes.

The Territory went to the polls today Monday, February 25, 2019, to choose a new government between 4 parties, 2 independent and 41 candidates.

For the most part, the vote was free and fair notwithstanding—at many of the polling stations particularly, Road Town D4 and Sea Cows Bay D3—there have been complains from candidates and their agents, resulting in police being called, and reported violations of the rules.

Our news centre will bring you the results as they are announced:

Andrew A. Fahie (VIP) - 742 Total Votes: (WINNER)  

Sylvia C. Romney-Moses (PVIM) - 141 Total Votes   

Stephanie A. Brewley (PU) - 28 Total Votes

District Two 

Melvin M. Turnbull (PVIM) - 550 Total Votes: (WINNER)    

Carnel D. Clyne (VIP) - 465 Total Votes  

District Three 

Julian Fraser RA (PU) - 519 Total Votes: (WINNER)    

Aaron F. Parillon (NDP) - 294 Total Votes 

Arlene L. Smith-Thompson (VIP) - 289 Total Votes  

District Four 

Mark H. Vanterpool (NDP) - 442 Total Votes: (WINNER) 

Luce D. Hodge-Smith (VIP) - 385 Total Votes 

Karl M. Scatliffe (PVIM) - 38 Total Votes  

Vincent G. Scatliffe (PU) - 24 Total Votes 

District Five 

Kye M. Rymer (VIP) - 638 Total Votes: (WINNER)   

Wade N. Smith (PU) - 396 Total Votes 

Elvis J. Harrigan (NDP) - 204 Total Votes

District Six

Alvera Maduro-Caines (NDP) - 575 Total Votes: (WINNER)

John M. Samuel (VIP) - 534 Total Votes 

District Seven 

Natalio D. Wheatley (VIP) - 384 Total Votes: (WINNER)

Kedrick D. Pickering (Independent Candidate) - 338 Total Votes 

Hipolito D. Penn (NDP) - 136 Total Votes  

District Eight 

Marlon A. Penn (NDP) - 726 Total Votes: (WINNER) 

Dean B. Fahie (VIP) - 527 Total Votes  

District Nine 

Vincent O. Wheatley (VIP) - 891 Total Votes: (WINNER)

Hubert R. O’Neal (NDP) - 325 Total Votes 

Jose de C. B. de Castro (PVIM) - Total Votes 63

Territorial At-Large:   

Sharie B. de Castro (VIP) - 4778 Total Votes: (WINNER)  

Neville A. Smith (VIP) - 4694 Total Votes: (WINNER)   

Shereen D. Flax-Charles (VIP) - 4033 Total Votes: (WINNER)  

Carvin Malone (VIP) - 3936 Total Votes: (WINNER)  

Myron V. Walwyn (NDP) - 3,335 Total Votes

Henry O. Creque (NDP) - 2,799 Total Votes

Ronnie W. Skelton (PVIM) - 2,639 Total Votes 

Sandy M. Underhill (NDP) - 2,418Total Votes

Trefor A. Grant (NDP) - 2,246 Total Votes  

Shaina M. Smith (PVIM) - 1,805 Total Votes

Curnal P. Fahie (PVIM) - 1,619Total Votes

R. Dancia Penn-Sallah (Independent) - 1,607 Total Votes  

Lesmore Smith (PVIM) - 1,063 Total Votes

Derk L. Walters (PU) – 769 Total Votes 

Verna V. Smith (PU) – 278 Total Votes 

Rajah A. Smith (PU) -  232 Total Votes 


3 Responses to “Polls closed in the VI, results pending; Territory on edge”

Create a comment

Create a comment

Disclaimer: Virgin Islands News Online (VINO) welcomes your thoughts, feedback, views, bloggs and opinions. However, by posting a blogg you are agreeing to post comments or bloggs that are relevant to the topic, and that are not defamatory, liable, obscene, racist, abusive, sexist, anti-Semitic, threatening, hateful or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be excluded permanently from making contributions. Please view our declaimer above this article. We thank you in advance for complying with VINO's policy.

Follow Us On

Disclaimer: All comments posted on Virgin Islands News Online (VINO) are the sole views and opinions of the commentators and or bloggers and do not in anyway represent the views and opinions of the Board of Directors, Management and Staff of Virgin Islands News Online and its parent company.