Got TIPS or BREAKING NEWS? Please call 545-3572; ads call 440-6666

Christopher Jr. clinches victory in 10-Mile Time Trial

Darel Christopher Jr. wins the 10 Mile BVICF Time Trial today March 11, 2012. Photo: VINO
The juniors who took part in the BVICF Time Trial. Photo: VINO
The juniors who took part in the BVICF Time Trial. Photo: VINO
ROAD TOWN, Tortola, VI - In a keenly contested race, Darel Christopher Junior managed to hold on to victory only by milliseconds ahead of Andrew Tubes Thompson to claim the BVI Cycling Federation 10 Mile Time Trial title.

This morning Sunday March 11, 2012, 19 riders took to the starting line including five juniors to participate in the short time trial, which saw riders leaving at one minute intervals from E & B Supermarket to Frenchman’s Cay Junction and back to complete the course.

The race was all about speed and saw all riders clocking superb time. Christopher Jr. won in a time of 26 minutes, 19:34 seconds. Second placed Thompson finished in a very close 26 minutes 19:63 seconds. In third place was Richard Morgan in 27 minutes, 13:51 seconds while Ricky Rodriquez took fourth in 27 minutes 16:34 seconds with Antonio Andrews in fifth with 27:55:69.

In the Masters Division, first time participant in the BVICF races, Craig Allan clocked 28 minutes, 33:84 seconds to give him 6th overall and first for Masters. Adrian Dale sprinted in 29 minutes 27:94 to take 7th overall and second for Masters while Hank Veer took 8th overall and third place for Masters with a time of 29:32:88.

Masters Steve Marsh came in 9th overall and fourth for Masters.

Top Female rider, Sally Blackmore secured top honours in her division and placed 10th overall in a time of 30:11:19. Andrew Willins came in 11th in 30:54:98 while Shaquil Samuel took 12thoverall. Gary Wilson came in 13th overall in 31:21:49 while Kay Reddy, who finished second for females, clocked 31:38:06.

In the Junior Under 15 division, Dominique Penn emerged victorious, completing the time trial in 34 minutes and one second, with Luwayne Francis in second in 36:01 and Chadwyn George in third place in 38:54.


In the Under 17 division, Barney Nockolds clocked 30 minutes and 35 seconds to take first place with Justin Solomon coming in second in 36:45.

The next event on the BVICF's calendar is a junior event on April 8, 2012. It’s a 25-mile event dubbed the Sea Cows/Slaney Hill Criterium.

3 Responses to “Christopher Jr. clinches victory in 10-Mile Time Trial”

  • SEA WEED (11/03/2012, 15:30) Like (0) Dislike (0) Reply
  • kool cat (11/03/2012, 23:42) Like (0) Dislike (0) Reply
    that new uniform is kool...seems like the guys stuff is well protected...
  • big bird (12/03/2012, 07:43) Like (0) Dislike (0) Reply
    Deeds young riders doing good hope dem going Olympics...

Create a comment

Create a comment

Disclaimer: Virgin Islands News Online (VINO) welcomes your thoughts, feedback, views, bloggs and opinions. However, by posting a blogg you are agreeing to post comments or bloggs that are relevant to the topic, and that are not defamatory, liable, obscene, racist, abusive, sexist, anti-Semitic, threatening, hateful or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be excluded permanently from making contributions. Please view our declaimer above this article. We thank you in advance for complying with VINO's policy.


Follow Us On

Disclaimer: All comments posted on Virgin Islands News Online (VINO) are the sole views and opinions of the commentators and or bloggers and do not in anyway represent the views and opinions of the Board of Directors, Management and Staff of Virgin Islands News Online and its parent company.